MASSIVE News: Tiesto to Play Avila

On October 8, Tiesto will headline a 26,000 capacity show at the Home Depot Stadium in LA. Assuming this show sells out (he’s been the biggest DJ in the world for the past decade, you’d be a fool to think it wouldn’t), it will be the biggest crowd in American history to witness a single headliner DJ perform.

Three days before Tiesto’s record breaking gig in Los Angeles, he will play in Avila Beach, CA a hidden town of 1,627 just outside of San Luis Obispo.

Coming Soon to the Central Coast!

I used to think somebody with Tiesto’s profile playing around SLO was a likely as finding a dinosaur alive and well in town. Back in High School I would dream about news like this but always had to face the reality that the best San Luis could attract were classic rock has-been’s and Country stars at the Fair. I hope the current SLO High class appreciates how lucky they are to have Tiesto, a genuine mega-star, stopping in town (they should feel even luckier knowing the show is all ages; be smart and safe kids). Things are changing though and some legitimate acts are coming to town. I knew Bassnectar, Laidback Luke, and Steve Aoki are playing soon, but hearing about Tiesto still blew my mind and I bought tickets without hesitation.

I’m not even a massive Tiesto fan; I only have 3 of his tracks in my iTunes library. He’s the Rolling Stones of dance. In my mind the Stones just took the sounds and styles pioneered by their contemporaries and refined them into widely appealing rock n roll, establishing a standard to compare other bands to. Tiesto is not the most innovative or creative artist working today, but he knows dance music better than anybody and is guaranteed to put on an epic show. I’d be a kook to miss him playing in my own backyard.

Tiesto’s upcoming North American tour is college themed  and is stopping at several major college towns in California including Santa Barbara, Davis, and Fresno. (Ah, the superstar DJ life: Ibiza, Rio, New York, and then beautiful Fresno.) Seeing as it’s a college tour Cal Poly is likely the ticket audience for his Avila show, so hopefully a large Slocal contingent will be on hand to throw the maddest shapes and keeping things from getting too kooked out.

It’s going to be a big night on the Central Coast!

About Crockett Johnson

I'm this guy from San Luis Obispo, alternating between working hard and kicking it. I try to understand humans and dream about everybody loving each other. These days I surf my beloved Central Coast and look forward to big nights out and chilled nights in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment