Have You Seen It? Big Ed’s Super Saucers

Have You Seen It? is featuring celebrating tasty treats that have seemingly vanished from this plane. First up, Big Ed’s Super Saucers, the best ice cream sandwiches ever.

I miss you so much. Toll House is just a crappy copy.

Every time I venture into a gas station mini-mart, corner shop, or liquor store I always check the ice cream freezer for Big Ed’s Super Saucers. I used to eat those bomb ice cream sandwiches all the time as a kid, at Cal Poly soccer games, Gus’s Deli, and on the curb in front of 7-Eleven. Then one day, Big Ed’s, the dankest of all the dank ice cream treats, vanished. Its history became legend and the legend became myth. As I grew up, I began to doubt if Big Ed’s actually were as good as I remembered, if they actually existed at all. Still, I hunted for them every time I longed for a cold tasty treat.

 On my first visit to Club Med, the sadly departed UCSD dining hall on the Med School campus, I performed my routine examination of the ice cream freezers. At this point, years after the vanishing, I had given up hope on finding another Super Saucer. Yet there one lay, alone on a shelf marked by an official Big Ed’s label. Obviously I bought it and loved it. With a shelf specifically marked “Big Ed’s Super Saucers,” I believed Club Med would continually replenish their stock. I was wrong.

I returned the next day and found no more Big Ed’s. The shelf label had disappeared overnight. I hadn’t seen a Big Ed for at least five years and I haven’t seen in the four years following that great day, so I believe I ate the last Super Saucer.

Hopefully I’m wrong. Maybe they still exist in some hidden nook in Vermont or Washington, but I doubt it. Big Ed’s website still exists but it looks charmingly dated. I’m still waiting for a reply to the many emails I’ve sent them.

According to Big Ed’s website “A Super Saucer, a cup of milk and a blender makes an awesome shake!” I have many happy Super Saucer memories, but I regret never trying the Super Saucer shake, and it will haunt me until I die, or until I can find another one.

About Crockett Johnson

I'm this guy from San Luis Obispo, alternating between working hard and kicking it. I try to understand humans and dream about everybody loving each other. These days I surf my beloved Central Coast and look forward to big nights out and chilled nights in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment